All the wrong reasons.

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                    

All the Wrong Reasons                                                                                                       ~ Tom Petty, Jeff Lynne

Trouble blew in on a cold dark wind
It came without no warning
And that big ol’ house went up for sale
They were on the road by morning
Oh, the days went slow, into the changing season
Oh, out in the cold, for all the wrong reasons

Well she grew up hard and she grew up fast
In the age of television
And she made a vow to have it all
It became her new religion
Oh, down in her soul, it was an act of treason
Oh, down they go for all the wrong reasons

Where the sky begins the horizon ends
Despite the best intentions
And a big ol’ man goes up for sale
He becomes his own invention
Oh, the days go slow into the changing season
Oh, bought and sold, for all the wrong reasons
Oh, down they go for all the wrong reasons

This song has taken up residence in my brain.  Not just the tune, but the words as well.  Some singer/songwriter poems stand alone.  Bob Dylan’s and Leonard Cohen’s work, for example.  Those guys are true poets in my opinion.  This one by Tom Petty and Jeff Lynne needs to be sung.  With the music, the Oh becomes Oh, oh, oh, oh.  But even when I quadruple the word, reading it doesn’t strike the same chord (no pun intended) as when TP sings it.  I want to share it with you to find out if others feel the same way.  Click here to listen.

I’ve tried for days to figure out what I’m supposed to learn here, if anything.  It has caused me to reflect in a way that I wouldn’t have, had my daughter not given me the CD for Christmas.  I wonder how much of what we do when we’re young do we do with intention and logic and an eye to the greater good.  It’s not that I think I had sinister motives ever; it’s just that I wasn’t mature/experienced enough to understand the far-reaching consequences of my decisions.  I think the same is true of most people; and in particular, I give that bit of grace to D, my ex-husband.

8 thoughts on “All the wrong reasons.

  1. Thanks, AJ. You made me laugh. I had not thought about the two posts being connected until you pointed it out. You’re right, they are. Actually, I thought you were going to mention the sniffing. hehehe I used to have a wonderful chocolate Lab named Sam. I could have a houseful of company and Sam would find the one person in the room who wasn’t a dog lover and that’s the one he sniffed. Sometimes it was embarrassing; other times it was riotously funny.

    Like

  2. Hit this one a bit late Pat, sorry.
    I think you found one of the differences between women and men. When men are young they’re like the dogs in you Dec. 31 post, (like I said I’m a bit behind but the two posts are connected) we live for the moment giving little regard for the consequences of their choices. (And you thought I was going to say something about licking! Shame on you 😉
    Eventually we figure out that if we mess on the rug, we get smacked by the Sunday Post! Sadly we usually ruin a few good rugs before that lesson is learned. Have a Happy New Year Pat. Hugs. AJ

    Like

  3. Thanks for your thoughtful comment, Jacqueline. Hindsight….as they say. I appreciate your singing along, too. BTW, I also got a CD by The Proclaimers because of the song you posted a while back. I love it! They make me happy. I KNOW you’re singing along on that one, too.

    Happy New Year!

    Like

  4. I agree Pat when you’re young you don’t think with intention, but you think you do at the time. How we learn eh! This song is obviously in your head for a reason. Just allow it to stay for a while – it seems that whatever message it’s sending you is already coming through loud and clear. It’s nice to pass on a bit of grace along the way. Sending you positive thoughts and singing along with you….. J x

    Like

Leave a Reply

