And the good news is…

My diagnostic mammogram was normal, consistent with the three previous ones.  Thanks to all my cyber friends for positive thoughts, encouragement, prayers, and thoughtful comments.

Now I can get back to normal, and hopefully writing more regularly than I have recently.  I don’t usually worry too much about these things but I’ve never had my doctor find a “suspicious spot” so it rattled me a little.  Glad that’s over.

We had a wonderful birthday party for our little S on Sunday.  She was so happy to have all her friends there in the park to play with her.  I tried once to get a hug but she was too busy.  She’s growing up fast and is very much a little girl now.  No more toddler.  And that’s wonderful but I sometimes think I would like to hold my baby/toddler one more time.  That’s life.  And it’s good.

My former mother-in-law came to the party.  I loved having her there.  It gave us a chance to catch up.  I think enough time has passed that I can visit her more often now than I have for the past five (almost) years.  When D and I first separated it felt a bit strange.  I felt as if I were making her uncomfortable.  I don’t think that’s the case any longer.  I guess we were both afraid of saying the wrong thing.  I believe we’re past that now.  I’m grateful for that.

Thanks again, my friends, for your support.

16 thoughts on “And the good news is…

  1. Thank you so much, Robin. In the past I’ve been able to reassure myself but this time I wasn’t so sure. I was diagnosed several years ago with LCIS so I know that I’m at higher risk than most women to get invasive breast cancer. I’m grateful for this good news. I finally subscribed to your blog. I thought I had done so earlier but apparently I hadn’t. I look forward to hearing how you’re doing.

    Like

  2. Wonderful news! I couldn’t comment before because I went in for a routine mammogram and found that I actually had breast cancer, so I don’t have a very comforting “oh, it will turn out to be nothing” speech for these occasions. I am so glad that you are in the false alarm column!

    Like

  3. Great news of course about your suspicious spot…Phew! Great news also about your ex-mother in law. It shows what a great person you are that you were able to feel comfortable around her again, and that you are able to forgive anything at all. I still have a long way to go on that front 😦
    Take care xx

    Like

    • Thank you, Lady E. I have to say that I really have missed my mother-in-law. She’s aging fairly rapidly now and I hope I will make myself go and visit her. I’m no longer invited to any of their family’s gatherings so I will have to make the effort. I think it speaks well of her that she comes to some of her step-great grandchildren’s activities.

      BTW, I think you’re doing very well. This is all still raw for you, I imagine. I think you’re doing better than I did at the same stage. Hang in there. 🙂

      Like

  4. I’m glad to hear things are well with you, Pat. I float onto your blog every now and then and always enjoy what I find. I am doing great in NYC. Couldn’t be happier! I hope things continue to be well for you!

    Like

    • Amanda! It’s great to hear from you. I think about you often. Float onto my blog whenever you can. I check you out on FB pretty regularly and I always get the sense that you’re enjoying being there. It’s such a vital city, especially for young people like you. I’m happy that you’re doing well.

      I had a huge urge to call your mom yesterday. Wish I could. 😦

      Like

  5. Awww. Thanks, Ducks. I’m off to get a haircut in a few minutes so I haven’t read your post yet. I look forward to reading it when I get home but I want you to know that your title made me laugh out loud. “Sardines again” wasn’t it? I relish the entertainment I get from your posts.

    Like

  6. Firstly I am more than pleased with your news.Thats great and a weight off your mind. The fact that your ex mother in law came to your party says a lot about her, and you: all of it positive. The niceness in your character always shines out in my opinion. Frankly “D” must have been off his rocker to part with a girl like you

    Like

Leave a Reply

