Life goes on…and I’m so damn happy.

Ob-la-di, ob-la-da, life goes on, brah!…      La la, how the life goes on.  ~  The Beatles

I love music, especially happy songs.  I can bring myself out of the depths of despair by listening to joyful music.

This song by The Beatles reminds me that life is a gift.  That it keeps on going whether or not I choose to ante up and play along.  I can wallow or I can dance.

I was in the throes of pain and despair after D left when I stumbled upon a song by Loudon Wainwright, III, called So Damn Happy.  I don’t really know his story but I assume he had just broken up with a woman when he wrote this song.  I giggled with glee when I heard the words and the catchy tune.  Here’s a little of it:

It’s crucial that it doesn’t matter.  Vows of love are idle chatter.  To feel this good has to be bad, I’m so damn happy that it’s sad.  Dear listener (reader) would you like to slap me?  And the sad thing is I’m so damn happy.

I find it refreshing that some of our best singers/musicians/entertainers show a sense of humor in their work.  I can only guess, but I suspect that Mr. Wainwright was entertaining himself more than anything when he penned this one.  He’s a very funny guy.  This song helped me to understand that I would get past the pain and get happy again.  And I have.

Lest you’re starting to worry about my taste in music, let me assure you that I love all the good stuff too.  I often go to sleep at night to classical music.  The point I’m trying to make, I suppose, is that music is a huge part of my life.  It inspires me.  It soothes.  It makes me laugh and cry.  It makes me dance.  It makes me happy when nothing else will.  (Excepting a grandchild, of course.)

Life is good.  And even better when the music is on!

2 thoughts on “Life goes on…and I’m so damn happy.

Leave a Reply

