Living well…

Living well is the best revenge.                        ~ George Herbert

When D and I first separated, a good friend of mine said this to me a number of times.  It sounded right then.  My gut instinct was to want some kind of revenge.  Now that I have passed that stage I wonder if that’s really what George Herbert meant.

revenge:  The action of inflicting hurt or harm on someone for a wrong suffered at their hands.

I think that the desire or need for revenge comes from anger or hatred.  I’m happy to say that I feel neither toward my ex and his significant other.  In fact, I never hated them.  Life is too short or too long depending on your point of view.  I readily admit, though, that I was terribly hurt–and angrier than I had ever been before.  I’m happy to say that I now have a rather gentle acceptance of all that has taken place in my life and I think I am, for the most part, living well.  And I have no need for revenge.  But I’m left wondering how my living well should have anything at all to do with revenge.  Or whether or not D and S are living well.  I hope they are.  I have no ill will.  It’s gone, dissipated.

And life is good.

2 thoughts on “Living well…

  1. “gentle acceptance” comes across in many of your posts. Whatever happened to you. You have developed well from it. You are one of those people I have come across whose acceptance of life, and the desire to make the best of it without too much regret is inspiring and heart warming to me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

