“Take your chances…”

Take your chances doing things that may look crazy to other people. ~ Oprah Winfrey

I take my chances every chance I get.                ~ Mary Chapin Carpenter

There are lots of songs and verses about taking chances.  What do they mean exactly?  Living life alone often feels like taking chances–risks, even.  But I don’t have a choice so I try to meet the challenges head-on.  And by the way, I’m not taking chances by growing marijuana.  The photo here is a Japanese maple, beni schichihenge, which resides in my daughter’s yard.  I love the green leaves with their pink borders.

Back to taking chances.  Do I wait around for an adventure to show up?  I’m thinking I’m probably supposed to find or create one.  I’ve considered going to my hometown in the mountains and riding a zip line.  That would be awesome, an adrenalin rush!  But very short-lived.  I’m still thinking a great deal about Peru.  I was planning this trip once before and it fell through.  We are considering the possibility again.  I renewed my passport just in case.  I’m even thinking about getting a new bicycle.  I got rid of the old one because it needed too much work.  And I finally found my helmet.  I guess I would need a new one, though, since this one has lived in a hot garage for three years.  Decisions, decisions.

I don’t want you to think I sit around in my “comfort zone” all the time.  (That term is overused to the point of cliché status.  But right now I can’t think of another term that suits me.)  Actually I’ve been stretching myself in many new directions.  For two weeks plus I’ve been eating a plant-based diet.  Talk about out of my comfort zone!!!  I’m feeling better physically because of the diet.  Another stretch is doing the computer-controlled visuals at the Spanish service at church.  When Pastor T asked me to do this I couldn’t keep from laughing.  I told him I’m techno-challenged and I would never have volunteered for this particular duty but “what the heck”, I’ll give it a go.  And I am.  So far, it’s nowhere near smooth and perfect but I’m certainly learning something new.

Since I mention my church frequently, you have probably figured out that I spend a good bit of time there.  It’s a happy, happening place and I feel the energy when I’m there.  (It’s about two minutes from my door to the church door you see here.) Many people there are doing wonderful good services for others who need help.  Lest you think I’m one of those fanatical crazies you hear about in the news, I would like to dispel that notion right now.  I’m quite the liberal as are many others in the church.  Others, not so much.  But we all get along.  And isn’t that what it’s all about?

I will continue to think about chances and adventures.  Let me know if you have suggestions or ideas.  I’m open and listening.

6 thoughts on ““Take your chances…”

  1. Thanks, Penny. I’m in catch-up mode, too. I think I am accepting my new phase, finally. I know what you mean about contrived, though. Just getting through some days is an adventure.

    Like

  2. Oh Pat I’m finally getting around to catching up with my fav blogs this morning and yours always gets me chuckling, and thinking. It’s funny, for a while now it has seemed to me that when you are in the middle of something that seems already too much of a challenge (my situation I mean) planning ‘adventures’ seems a little contrived. I’m already bowing at how you have overcome all your challenges and I think if you are about to plan a biggie trip or something it must mean you really are in a new phase of life – and good for you! And I doubt anyone could ever think of you as a fanatical crazie! Have fun whatever you do.

    Like

  3. I’ve always wanted to go to Machu Picchu. Now I fear it has gotten so full of tourists (and the accompanying problems they bring) that I don’t think I would like it. One adventure I do plan to have is to take one of the National Geographic or Smithsonian tours where the dress is casual and the tours are led by experts.

    Like

    • I consider it one of the great wonders of the world so a few tourists won’t slow me down.

      I subscribed to NatGeo trips a while back to see where they were going. I consider them VERY pricey so I don’t imagine I’ll be taking any trips with them.

      Like

  4. go for it and go on all the adventures you can. Even if the adventure is a short-lived one. A glider flight, a zip-wire experience – it doesn’t matter! If you want to do it then just go for it.

    Now – I must start my list!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

