Out of the blue…

“You’ve got to be very careful if you don’t know where you’re going because you might not get there.”–Yogi Berra

People laugh at Yogi Berra quotes because they are illogical, don’t make sense.  This one makes perfect sense to me.  It’s saying to me that I need a goal.  I’ve never been good at setting long-term goals.  I usually wait for a bolt out of the blue and that becomes my short-term goal.  I accomplish that one and drift for a while and await the next bolt (idea).

I know that I want (and even need) to be doing something visually artistic.  I think that will always be true.  The problem that I often encounter when I’m manipulating fabrics and color and trying to come up with something beautiful, is that I tend to isolate myself.  I think it was one of my daughters who told me recently that according to the “experts” we need seven or eight hours of interactions with other people every day in order to be mentally/emotionally healthy.  Wow!  If this is true, I am already hopelessly wacky.  I would have to get a job for that much people time.  Horrors!

Let me rephrase what I said in the first paragraph.  It’s not that I’ve never been good at setting long-term goals.  I used to have long-term goals.  Maybe the reason I don’t have them now has something to do with the fact that I’m retired.  And I’m older.  I love doing what I want when I want.  I do believe, though, that I would make better use of my time if I made a daily schedule (that’s a very short-term goal, no?).  I’ve had that notion in my head for quite some time and so far I haven’t done anything about it.  Well, let me put it this way:  I’ve made mental schedules in the past but I usually go off schedule fairly early in the day.  Do I dare try again?  It’s no fun setting myself up for failure.

Maybe I’m just a hopeless, old adolescent.  Any suggestions?

Note:  I would like to give credit to the artist who painted the blue picture above but I can’t remember the name.

9 thoughts on “Out of the blue…

  1. I used to be quite organized. I didn’t spend a lot of time thinking about it, but as a teacher with three kids and aging parents and a husband who seemed depressed, I had to be. I always had a great-looking organizer with lots of colors and designs and I was reasonably good at keeping it up.

    Since D-day, I have not been able to focus enough to get an organizer going, much less keep it up. I think it’s time now. You’re such an inspiration.

    Like

  2. Remember that contact doesn’t always mean being in a room with a person. Talking on the phone, texting, Iming (is that a word???) and perhaps Skyping are other ways to have actual contact with “real” people even if you don’t leave your home. Try watching a movie or TV show on a common network with a friend while on speakerphone. Not the same perhaps, but better than no contact. I wonder if those hours are true for internal processors or just external ones. Extroverts, afterall, suck the energy out of introverts, so for those who like their alone time, maybe they don’t need as many hours of contact to get the same effect.

    Like

  3. Judy, now that you told me it’s Miro I remember. As you can probably tell I’m not the sharpest knife in the drawer when it comes to technology. Thanks for telling me how to do that.

    It sometimes takes a long time to get beyond the survival stage. But surviving is really not living and I want to live. So I’m trying all kinds of things that I think might help. Mostly short-term things just to keep me moving but I’m slowly doing better in the grand scheme of things. Some of the things I do would sound silly to some people. Like giving a party just so I’ll have to clean the house. Wearing jeans that are too tight so I won’t eat too much that day. Not allowing myself to start a new art/quilt project until I’ve organized my sewing room. I don’t know about you but I have struggled with depression since D left. How depressed I feel sometimes determines how much I can make myself do. It works the other way, too. If I don’t accomplish anything one day, I’m more likely to be depressed.

    Life is hard sometimes. But sometimes it’s very good. I wish you the good.

    Pat

    Like

  4. I found that sinse my divorce I can’t function hardly at all .. let alone making any sort of goals either long term or short term. I had my life and future all figured out before, I’d always be a Mother and wife, my goals then were making wonderful people out of my children and careing for my home and husband. Well, now the kids are all grown and on their own, and my husband and house is no longer here… and soo, what do I do now? 17 years is a long time to be with someone,.. then suddenly all the future goals and plans are history. I’m just here, surviving, somehow. what to do next.. I don’t really know.

    as for the artist of your pic, all you need to do if you kept the original file name just google it.. and that should bring you to the artist.

    Like

  5. According to my LC Goals are what we need. But – also according to him – if you ‘set yourself up for failure’ then failure is what you will get. As what you focus on is what you get. So set yourself up for success! And remember Successful people just make the mistakes faster so run out of ways to fail and because they keep going rather than give up they finally succeed. The answer is learn from the mistakes rather than accept them or justify them to yourself as inevitable. So set yourself goals – short-term and long-term and go for it!

    Good luck. I wait with interest to read what they are!
    xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

