I need a kiss.

Monkey-Kiss

” The first kiss is stolen by the man; the last is begged by the woman.”–Henry Louis Mencken

I miss kissing.  It’s been a long time.  I saw this quote and it rang so true.  D was certainly the one who instigated and “stole” the first kiss.  And I remember asking him for a kiss many times those last months of our marriage.  The last time was in a parking lot at a restaurant where we had met to talk about “us” and our looming divorce.  He had already moved out but I still needed to touch him.  I simply asked, “May I have a kiss?”  He gave me a kiss.  But he hesitated for a split second first.  I never asked again.

I get lots of kisses from the grandchildren.  And those kisses are worth millions.  I wouldn’t trade them for anything.  But I really long for grown-up kisses sometimes.  So far I haven’t found anyone I’m interested in kissing.  Well, I hadn’t until I found that dude in the picture above.  He looks ready and willing, doesn’t he?  I wonder how I should go about locating him.

LOL.  This, too, shall pass.  I hope.

One thought on “I need a kiss.

  1. Oh how that resonates with me. Yes I too miss the kisses. I miss the hugs too.
    Love the photo though! All lined up and ready!

    I’m sure these stages will pass. They’d better. Here’s to us finding someone we want to kiss!

    Caroline

    Like

Leave a Reply

