Pushing up daisies.

From my fall garden.

Pushing up daisies:  Euphemism for dead. Syn:  Six feet under.

I took this photo of my backyard daisies in October, I think.  Every time I look at it the expression pushing up daisies comes to mind.  I’m not sure why.  But I have finally decided to take it on as an analogy for my divorce.  Let’s face it.  My marriage is definitely six feet under.  Dead.  Finished. 

I have always loved daisies.  When I was a little girl I would walk over the hill to my Maw’s house and I picked wild daisies on the way.  “He loves me, he loves me not.”  And daisy chains.  And daisy crowns.  What fun my sister and I had collecting them.

When D and I got married I chose daisies for my bridal bouquet.  They were big, beautiful versions of my little childhood flowers.  Wild ones are smaller than the cultivated ones we get from a florist.  When D and I were leaving for our honeymoon his mother asked me if she could keep the bouquet.  She had read about preserving flowers and wanted to preserve it for me.  I thought that was very sweet of her.  Alas, when we got home a week later she informed me that the preservation project was a disaster and I was left without even one daisy to press in my favorite book.  It’s a good thing I’m not overly sentimental about that sort of thing.  But I did feel a little sad about it.  I knew my new mother-in-law wasn’t real crazy about her son marrying a woman with three daughters so I have to admit that I wondered if she did it on purpose.  Fortunately I didn’t dwell on that notion.  And I don’t think that was the case.

OK.  So the marriage is pushing up daisies.  But I’m not.  I’m very much alive and I still love daisies.  I think that says something about my optimistic nature.  And today I’m glad for the good times we had together.  I’m letting my backyard daisies remind me of those times.

One thought on “Pushing up daisies.

Leave a Reply

