Slow and steady heals the soul.

I have to keep reminding myself that my tortoise doesn’t go in a straight line.  She keeps taking roundabouts and side trips.  I thought it was the hare that did that.  It would be wonderful if I could expect my healing to keep plodding one baby step at a time toward sanity and health.  Unfortunately life doesn’t work that way.  One day I’m swinging from a star and the next I’m swimming the Styx upstream and I don’t know how to swim.

I learned a long time ago in Al-Anon that it’s best to look at progress from a long view rather than comparing today to yesterday.  That way I can say that I’m lots better than I was six months or a year ago.  But I may not be better than I was last week or even last month.  There will always be setbacks and I must remember to keep the faith that there is a “light at the end of the tunnel” even if I can’t see it right now.

Today I have felt sad.  I feel like a lonely soul rather than a free spirit.  I know this will pass.  I have to wait it out and work through it.  I had lunch with friends today.  Tomorrow I have a very busy day–a hair cut, a visit with my sister, a lunch date with a friend and a facial tomorrow evening.  Pampering is good.  Busy is good.

A good quote for me today:  “You make a life out of what you have, not what you’re missing.”The Forgotten Garden by Kate Morton